Hey Internet, well, as we draw August to a close and stare ahead and the bleak cave of nothingness that is the September movie landscape, I thought we’d take a day to answer your questions, feed your desire for feedback, and just generally speaking address all dem masses!! And by masses, I do mean 5 of you… just so we’re clear.

Micah, recently I heard Will Ferrell has been cast as Sherlock Holmes. I know you certainly must have an opinion on this, and I demand to hear it! – Katrina

ferrell-reilly

Somehow that hat makes John C. Reily seem WAAAAYYY creepier… and I didn’t think that was possible.

 

Well, and this is just cause you demanded it, fine. I’ll do it. Opinion to follow. So the full rumor (which has since been confirmed) is that Will Ferrell and John C. Reiley will be playing Holmes and Watston (respectively) in a new, full length Sherlock Holmes comedy written by Etan Cohen (not to be confused with the vastly more talented Ethan Coen.) Look, if you told me this was an SNL sketch I would excited and probably check it out, but that’s really Ferrell’s entire movie history. There will be 10-15 minutes of pretty funny material, surrounded by an hour and a half or so of un-funny, clumsy padding. I like Farrell and Riley fine, but I’m just not seeing this turn into anything worth really watching.

Micah, have you seen the new Rings trailer? What do you think of it and the original series? – Travis

I have Trav (can I call you Trav??) and it looks fine. Maybe better than fine, I mean it’s certainly scary enough, and creepy little creep girl is still… ya know, creepy. I watched the first Ring in college with some friends VERY late at night and it (to put it respectfully) scared the shinola right outta me. The Ring 2: More Rings I watched alone in the dark and was unimpressed. So who knows, it’s easy to put together a scary trailer for something, but we’ll just have to wait and see exactly what the final product looks like.

Fellowship_of_the_Ring_Poster_01

I can’t shake the feeling I’ve done something wrong…

 

You left Deepwater Horizon off your September preview? Why all the hate for Marky-mark? – Kyle

First off, Kyle, let’s never say Marky-mark again okay? It’s offensive to Mark, Marky’s, markers, basically everything. Secondly, the trailer for this movie was somehow SUPER boring. Some little girl with a coke can trying to adorably explain how oil drilling works for what felt like twenty minutes. I mean I don’t care how adorable the directors daughter having her talk for like thirty minutes about the exact reasons the oil well was gonna explode is WAY less effective than (just as a crazy example) SHOWING THE EXPLOSION?!?!

horzon

A girl who could tell the story of Taken and still put an audience to sleep.

 

Micah, what do you think of Brie Larson being cast as Captain Marvel? – Stacey

larson

Just so we’re clear: this is in no way an actual image of Brie Larson… or Captain Marvel… that may be an actual wall behind her… maybe.

 

I think it’s great. I mean Larson is super talented, and can definitely handle the roll so I definitely don’t think there’s any reason to question the casting. Plus, at this point who are we to question the wise wisdom of wiseness that emanate from the Marvel cinematic universe? I mean until they start missing there’s no reason to think they will right? Oh and speaking of judging things based on their track records…

Micah, everyone is saying that Jared Leto is the worst Joker? What do you think? Will they really replace him? – Alex

Okay, Alex, this is a good question for a couple reasons. First off (from what we can tell) we barely saw ANY of the footage they shot with the Joker for Suicide Squad. There’s hardly any, actual Joker footage in the actual movie. That said, Leto wasn’t great, but I mean really the list of ‘great Jokers’ is pretty short. Cesar Romero did it in the old Adam West show and he didn’t even care enough to shave his mustache off.

Cesar-Romero-Joker-Batman

Just when you thought the Joker couldn’t get any weirder… the Jokerstache happened.

 

Then you had Jack Nicholson who did pretty well, but basically just spent the movie doing a slightly more boisterous Cesar Romero impression.

Heath Ledger of course ROCKED the Joker in the Dark Knight, and Mark Hamill (yes, that Mark Hamill) did a fantastic job voicing the Joker in various animated movies/games. Leto is nowhere close to Ledger or Hamill, but it’s hard to compare him to Nicholson and Romero because the time periods are so different.

I think the big drawback to Leto so far (his Suicide Squad run was short, but also decidedly underwhelming) is (and I’m basing this purely on secondhand accounts) Leto is kind of a jerk. He spent the entire time on set sending weird gifts to cast members and being in character, and then when the movie was released he did NOT handle the cuts well, mouthing off at DC execs and the director and basically everyone he could think of. All that said, they won’t bail on Leto yet, I mean these are the people who keep letting Zach Snyder make movies so… as far as we can tell they don’t know how to fire people.

And that’s it guys!! Thanks again for the e-mails!! Always good to hear from the peeps and popes of the Internet! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

