Judging Covers 4-22-2016

Posted: April 22, 2016 by Micah in Randomnicity
Tags: , , , , ,

Well hello Inter-friends and welcome back to party Island, the Love Boat, Gilligan’s Island, and Green Acres… Don’t really know why I decided to name a bunch of old TV shows in my opening guys but there it is. Indelibly splattered across the face of the Internet forever. Carved in the most permanent of stone all across the face of this noble web, never to be forgot.

But moving on from my errant footprints in the sands of time let’s talk about some trailer shall we? Starting with the thing that I mentioned in my last blog that looked really awesome…

The Magnificent Seven –

Yup, the first couple pictures to be released from this looked pretty sweet and now that we’ve seen the first trailer for it I am all sort of excited. I mean that thing just looks awesome, and fun, and cool and all westerny. Admittedly I have a soft spot in my heart for westerns having watched MANY John Wayne movies many and many a year ago when I was but a small Pilgrim, but still this looks pretty great. Denzel, Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke… for some reason. I’m very excited for this.

Jason Bourne

I can’t decide whether I really care about this movie or not. I mean it looks fine, it will undoubtedly be: a movie in which things get punched. But I feel like I’ve seen everything this trailer has to show me before. I don’t necessarily think it will be a bad movie and I love the addition of Tommy Lee Jones, who (like literally every old person in this entire movie series) will eventually end up getting killed by Jason Bourne professional ageist assassin. I’m also not convinced it’ll be anything more than just another spy movie that happens to have Matt Damon’s face attached to it. Loved the original and 2 and 3 weren’t bad, but this movie is definitely entering that dreaded, been there, done that, territory.

When a Monster Calls

This was one of my most anticipated films of the year, and it still looks like it’s gonna be really great. It’s based on a great book and has the ever awesome, soothy growly chocolate covered voice of Mr. Liam Neeson. I may change my name to Connor O’Malley just so I can have a recording of Liam Neeson saying my name with his tree-monster voice. I mean that’s just fantastic.

Dr. Strange

Okay, so, don’t get me wrong, I am VERY excited for Civil War next month… but this is the thing I’m most excited to watch this year. I mean this looks great, and VERY different from other Marvel entries and it’ll just be cool to see how this changes everything in the Marvel-verse thus far. I mean, they’ve been VERY careful about introducing too many supernatural things on Earth, basically keeping things very science-based even when they were on Asgard but Strange is basically all magic all the time. This also looks a good bit darker than the rest of the Marvel-verse has been thus far and while obviously I’m sure there will be some levity here, I do think this will be more grim throughout as they try to both counter balance the weirdness of the magic and try and step outside of the Ant-man/Ironman comparison to do something more outside the box. I’m all in on this and am very interested to see what’s coming down the pipe as we barrel on through 2016.

So there you have it guys!! A quicker post today but I wanted to get my thoughts out on these before they were lost forever to the four winds. Check back next week when I do a May preview and once again visit the classic Disney vaults to ruin some childhoods!!

 

Leave a Reply

