Well hey Internet, let’s keep it short intro-wise today huh?? I mean, let’s focus on what really matters. The things that reach inside us and pull out… organs. I mean- Emotions. And feelings. And things. Let’s focus on the thing that brings us all together, that lifts us up, where we belong. Namely: The Weekly Headlines.

Yeah that’s right, only two weeks between weekly headliens, still not… ya know weekly. But closer, and if closer isn’t good enough… then I don’t know, you’re probably not on the right website.

Weekly Headlines 2/2/2016

So it’s Groundhog day. I don’t know… find a groundhog and tell it you love it… I guess?? Look, I wrote a big article on this a couple years ago, so just insert some Bill Murray joke here and let’s all roll on with our day shall we?? Maybe I’m just not in the mood this year. Maybe, the holiday has just gotten way to commercialized this year what with all the cards, and the candy, and the groundhog flowers… I don’t know man. I just feel like some of the magic of that one thing coming out of the ground and seeing some stuff is just gone. It’s a sad world we live in.

groundhog_vsh4oy

I miss the older, simpler groundhog day.

 

The Guardians of the Galaxy 2 starts filming next week!! Rumors abound about the plot/characters/space dogs but thus far all we know for sure is that it will feature Chris Pratt’s gyrating hipps, a cool 60’s soundtrack, and that it will be awesome.

In a strangely interesting weekend (for February) Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, and the Coen Brothers new movie “Hail Caesar” both come out this weekend. There aren’t a lot of reviews in yet for Hail Caesar, but Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has gotten reviews expressing pretty much exactly what I thought they would “It’s decent.” So if that’s your thing… do your thing. I guess. (also Matt Smith is apparently great in it.)

Alice Through the Looking Glass released some TV spots this week, which was sad because A: It’s Alan Rickman’s last movie. And B: Someone made Alice Through the Looking Glass.

cater

It makes me sad…

 

Nicholas Sparks’ The Choice movie comes out soon. I know NOTHING about this movie but it’s Nicholas Spark so I assume it features some people who love each other sitting next to the ocean, then not loving each other and staring out at the ocean, and then loving each other again and kissing in the ocean. And also: The Ocean.

Elizabeth Banks today announced that she’ll be playing (and I’m not making this up) Rita Repulsa… In (and I’m not making this up) The Power Rangers re-boot that’s coming in 2017. When asked to comment on this umm… career move??? Elizabeth said: “Yeah I wore A LOT of makeup for the Hunger Games, I’m thinking it’s beginning to affect my higher brain functions. I mean I still direct Pitch Perfect 2, but I have an insatiable desire to be featured in 90’s kids show, with poorly choreographed fight scenes, and storylines written by a narcoleptic ferret.” So it was either Power Rangers or…” And then she just sort of… trailed off. We’re concerned.

Ritafull

Ironically this is nothing compared to what Elizabeth is used to doing costume-wise.

 

The Last Witch Hunter is out of DVD today, offering you all the freedom you always dreamed of to watch Vin Diesel growl at Elijah Wood in a priest costume. And I mean who hasn’t had that dream at least once??

So just me huh?

The game Xcom 2 comes out on Friday so… I wouldn’t plan on me doing anything for the next oh… month or so. Just so we’re all ready for reality.

Kung Fu Panda 3 was the top movie at the box office this week receiving such incredible reviews as “My kids shut up for a bit so… that was nice.” And “It was a movie that directly followed the events and storylines of Kung Fu Panda 1 and 2.”

Oh and in our final story, Agent Carter is back!! Are you watching Agent Carter?? Are you watching it now?? Cause if you’re not, what are you possibly doing with your time?!?! Having a social life? Spending time with your family?? Pshaw. I say: Pshaw. Agent Carter.

agent-carter

Agent Carter, it’s a lot like Agents of SHIELD… except way better.

 

Thanks for reading guys!! A little shorter today, but I’m building up for a big Grease post on Thursday and hey if you want more Thoughts We Might Have Had why not click HERE and read my latest piece for MoviePilot.com wherein I reveal DC’s biggest weapon against Marvel.

Comments
  1. Reni says:

    Hey Micah, any thoughts on the new “Jungle Book” coming out? And while we’re on the subject of Disney renewing their copyrights through reboots, how feasible is the idea of a post on top/bottom Disney sequels (and, in some cases, three-quels)?

Leave a Reply

